Six for Six: All Pass Inaugural ABMS Neurocritical Care Board Exam

Five faculty members and one research fellow in the Department of Critical Care Medicine were the first to sit—and all passed—the inaugural examination for certification in Neurocritical Care by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Firas Abdulmajeed, MD, ChB, Chenell Donadee, MD, Jonathan Elmer MD, MS, Neil Munjal, MD, Lori Shutter, MD, and Alexis Steinberg, MD became the department’s first ABMS-certified neurointensivists after taking the exam in October 2021.

Lori Shutter, who serves as a professor of Critical Care Medicine, Neurology and Neurosurgery as well as director of Neurocritical Care Division and director of the Multidisciplinary Critical Care Training Program said, “It is such an honor to have so many on our team board certified in neurocritical care. These results show the true prowess of Pitt neurointensivists, and I am very proud to of their achievements.”

ABMS approved the Neurocritical Care certificate in 2018 before holding the first examination in October 2021. The certificate is sponsored by four boards: American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, American Board of Anesthesiology, American Board of Emergency Medicine and American Board of Neurological Surgery. Previously, only the United Council of Neurological Subspecialties accredited neurocritical care intensivists.

This strong cohort of ABMS-certified neurointensivists puts the department in a strong position to apply for accreditation for the Neurocritical Care Fellowship program from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).