Alicia K. Au, MD, MS

Associate Professor, Critical Care Medicine

Associate Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

Contact Information


Administrative Contact:
Phyllis Starz

Education & Training

MD, Jefferson Medical College, 2004
Residency, Pediatric, Children's National Medical Center, 2007
Fellowship, Pediatric Critical Care, UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, 2010
MS, Clinical Research, Institute for Clinical Research Education, 2016

Research, Clinical & Academic Interests

  • Biomarkers and prediction of neurological morbidity
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Asphyxia - induced cardiac arrest
  • Cell autophagy in brain injury

Au AK, Bell MJ, Fink EL, Aneja RK, Kochanek PM, Clark RS. Brain - specific serum biomarkers predict neurological morbidity in diagnostically diverse pediatric intensive care unit patients. Neurocritical care. 2018 Feb 1;28(1):26 - 34.

Au AK, Aneja RK, Bayır H, Bell MJ, Janesko - Feldman K, Kochanek PM, Clark RS. Autophagy biomarkers Beclin 1 and p62 are increased in cerebrospinal fluid after traumatic brain injury. Neurocritical care. 2017 Jun 1;26(3):348 - 55.

Au AK, Chen Y, Du L, Smith CM, Manole MD, Baltagi SA, Chu CT, Aneja RK, Bayır H, Kochanek PM, Clark RS. Ischemia - induced autophagy contributes to neurodegeneration in cerebellar Purkinje cells in the developing rat brain and in primary cortical neurons in vitro. Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Molecular Basis of Disease. 2015 Sep 1;1852(9) :1902 - 11.

Au AK, Carcillo JA, Clark RS, Bell MJ. Brain injuries and neurological system failure are the most common proximate cause of death in children admitted to a pediatric intensive care unit. Pediatric Critical Care M edicine. 2011 Sep;12(5):566.

► Full listing on Pub Med

Associate Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Scientist, Safar Center for Resuscitation Research

McGrevin Post Doctoral Award, 2010
Neurology Specialty Award, Society of Critical Care Medicine, 2010
Nancy Caroline Fellowship Award, 2011
Young Investigator Award, Society of Critical Care Medicine, 2014