Skip to Content

Pitt Faculty Honored as Master Critical Care Medicine

Fri, 11/18/2011

Derek Angus

Mitchell Fink

Ake Grenvik

Patrick Kochanek

Michael Pinsky

Ann Thompson

Peter Safar

The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) has awarded 7 current and former members of the Department of Critical Care Medicine as the first recipients of the newly developed, prestigious title, Master Critical Care Medicine. Derek Angus, Mitch Fink, Ake Grenvik, Pat Kochanek, Michael Pinsky, and Ann Thompson are to be congratulated for this great honor. The designation was also awarded posthumously to the late Peter Safar. Only 20 individuals will be so honored in the inaugural class of inductees.

The American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) developed this award to honor members of the College who “have distinguished themselves by achieving national and international professional prominence due to personal character, leadership, eminence in clinical practice, outstanding contributions to research and education in critical care medicine, or years of exemplary service to the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), ACCM, and the field of critical care medicine in its broadest sense.” This distinction is meant to be the highest honor the College of Critical Care Medicine can bestow on its members.

The awards will officially be presented at the Convocation of the American College of Critical Care Medicine in Houston, February 6, 2012.