Skip to Content

News in Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Program

Mon, 08/04/2014

Dr. Kaynar Elected into Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) Membership

A. Murat Kaynar, MD, MPH was elected as a new member in the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) at the AUA Annual Meeting on April 25, 2014 held at the Stanford University School of Medicine. The AUA’s mission is to advance the art and science of anesthesiology by encouraging its members to pursue original investigations in the clinic and in the laboratory, develop the method of teaching anesthesiology, and freely and informally interchange ideas. AUA members are nominated and elected based on excellence in teaching, administration, and research.


Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program Appoints Dr. Dennis Phillips as the New Associate Program Director

Congratulations to Dennis P. Phillips, DO, who was recently appointed the Associate Program Director of the Department’s Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program, where A. Murat Kaynar, MD, MPH is the Program Director.

Dr. Phillips brings his expertise in critical care and peri-operative echocardiography combining his training in critical care medicine and cardio-thoracic anesthesiology. He will facilitate both educational and QI projects involving echocardiography.

In addition to Dr. Phillips, Dr. Mark Lischner and Dr. Hernando Gomez also contribute to the educational mission of the Department with their expertise in cardiovascular physiology and anesthesiology. Along the same theme of peri-operative medicine, Dr. Colleen Moran is concentrating her efforts on neuro-anesthesiology and neuro-critical care.


Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Program Completes its First Fellowship Match

The Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program recently concluded its first match through the San Francisco Match Program. A total of 47 candidates applied for four positions and filled all of the four fellowship positions. The incoming fellows are from the University of Pittsburgh, Drexel University, and the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Kaynar personally wants to thank all of the members at the education office (Ms. Barnhart, Ms. Charnock, Ms. Ross-Straney, Mr. Ceraso, Mr. Glider, and Dr. Rieker), Critical Care Medicine faculty and fellows contributing during the interviews, and the Department for its ongoing support for the program.


For more information about the Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program, please visit their fellowship programs page.