Skip to Content

Dr. Raghavan Murugan Receives Presidential Citation from the Society of Critical Care Medicine

Wed, 12/17/2014

On December 1, 2014, Dr. Raghavan Murugan received the Presidential Citation from the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM). In his congratulatory letter to Dr. Murugan, J. Christopher Farmer, President of SCCM, thanked Dr. Murugan for his “extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources” to SCCM this year.

Dr. Murugan has played a key role at the Society of Critical Care Medicine for more than 10 years. He is a member of the Scientific Review Committee and the Research Section of SCCM and had made substantial contributions to the advancement of its mission. He was instrumental in the review of SCCM's Vision Grants and the selection of the grant recipients over the last three years. He was also responsible for review of the surveys sent to SCCM and advice to the council on matters related to advancing the research mission of SCCM. This year he organized a webinar in the newly created series, “Controversies in Critical Care,” entitled “Use of corticosteroids for septic shock.” This was a “Pro/Con” debate between Drs. Djillali Annane and Greet Van den Berghe and was attended by a record number of more than 140 audiences.

Raghavan Murugan, MD, MS, FRCP, is an Associate Professor of Critical Care Medicine and Clinical and Translational Science, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.