Skip to Content

Department shines at Society of Critical Care Medicine Clinical Congress

Tue, 01/31/2012

At the 41st Critical Care Congress of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, to be held in Houston, Feb. 4-8, many current and former members of the Department of Critical Care Medicine will be honored. At the Annual Convocation of the American College of Critical Care Medicine, Derek Angus, Mitchell Fink, Ake Grenvik, Patrick Kochanek, Michael Pinsky, Peter Safar, and Ann Thompson will be inducted as the part of the first group of recipients of the distinction, “Master Critical Care Medicine”. Doug White will receive the Grenvik Family Award for Ethics. Paul Rogers will receive the Shubin-Weil Master Clinician and Teacher: Excellence in Bedside Teaching Award. David Huang will be inducted as a Fellow of the College. Sam Tisherman was elected to be the Secretary-General of the Board of Regents and Marie Baldisseri was re-elected to the Board.

Six of the pediatric critical care fellows will present research posters: Anthony Willyerd, Renee Matos, Nikki Ferguson, Frank Casey, Erik Brockman, and Beth Newell. Erik Su, one of the T32 fellows, will present a poster. Sophie Baart, a medical student from Amsterdam, who has been doing research with Hülya Bayir is going to receive one of the 2012 Annual Scientific Awards for her work titled “Mitochondrial targeting of antioxidants with anti-apoptotic action in pediatric asphyxial cardiac arrest".

One of the adult critical care fellows, Balaji Yegneswaren, will present a poster. Ayan Sen will present a poem entitled, “The Surrogate”, in the artistic talent showcase.

Many faculty will speak during post-graduate courses or congress sessions, including Raj Aneja, Marie Baldisseri, Mike Bell, David Huang, John Kellum, Lisa Marcucci, Ragi Murugan, Juan Ochoa, Sam Tisherman, and Doug White.

The annual reunion will be held at Massa’s Seafood Grill, Sunday, Feb. 5, at 6:30 pm.